HooptownGTA Forums

The Greater Toronto Area High School Basketball Forums

Keswick coach looking for some opinions

fjl35879
    Freshman

Number of posts : 35
    Registration date : 2008-11-03

Keswick coach looking for some opinions Empty Keswick coach looking for some opinions

Post by fjl35879 on Tue Feb 10, 2009 12:00 am

I do not post very often, but am in need of some feedback from some of the more experienced coaches on the site. I have been coaching for about five years and have really made a strong commitment, over the last two years, to improving basketball at Keswick by devoting my time and energy to the student athletes. I have seen allot of growth by my players, physically and mentally, during these last two years and although we are far from being a top team in the York region we definitely have made allot of progress (semi finals tier 2 last year and 15th ranked tier one this year).

Tonight we had it handed to us by a very strong Newmarket team. The final score was Newmarket 96 Keswick 55. We came into the game with only 6 active players, 3 of them regular starters, due to kids being sick and injured. During the last 4 minutes of the fourth quarter, already down by at least 35 points I called a time out and urged my players to go out and try to get the lead down by running our press after a basket. We were successful at getting a few steals and cutting the lead down to 30-32 points. Newmarkets coach then decides enough is enough and brings in his starting five to full court press our team for the rest of the game and see if his team can either break 100 or get a dunk before the game is finished. Suffice to say that they had one dunk attempt and nearly reached the 100 mark.